Last modified 7 years ago Last modified on 2010-11-23 01:00:17

6.4 Edit fleets

To define the fishing fleets in your model, choose the Edit fleets... option on the Ecopath menu. This will open a form where you can add, delete, name and sort the fleets in your model (see below). To close the Edit fleets form and implement changes, click the OK button. To exit without implementing any changes, click the Cancel button.

After adding fleets on the Edit fleets form, you can proceed to the Input data forms to enter parameters for your fleets (see Definition of fleets, Landings, Discards, Discard fate, Market price, Non-market price and Fleet size dynamics).

Add/insert fleets

Add fleets using the Insert button. In a brand new model, there is one default fleet ("Fleet1") and new fleets will be inserted above this fleet. In an existing model, select the row where you would like a new fleet inserted and click Insert. A new fleet will be added above the selected row. If no row is selected, new fleets will be added above the first row. Note that when you add a new fleet, its status in the Status column will be given as "To create". Clicking the OK button closes the Edit fleets form and implements the group insertion.

Fleet name

New fleets are given the default name "New Fleet". Edit fleet names by clicking once in the appropriate Fleet name cell. The box will be highlighted and you can start typing. To edit an existing fleet name, double click on the name and the name will be highlighted. You can then use your mouse to select the part of the name to be edited.

Sort fleets

You can change the order of fleets in the model using the Up and Down buttons. Clicking the OK button closes the Edit fleets form and implements the new fleet numbers.

Delete fleets

Fleets can be deleted from the model using the Delete button. Models selected for deletion will be marked "To delete" in the Status column. Clicking the OK button closes the Edit fleets form and implements the fleet deletion.

Note: if you change your mind about deleting the fleet before you close the form, click Preserve and the status will be returned to normal.

WARNING: Fleet deletion cannot be undone. When you click the OK button, you will receive a warning message for each fleet to be deleted. Click Yes to continue with fleet deletion or No if you do not wish to delete the fleet. The Edit fleets form will close.